Heavy duty mortice locks

The term "Heavy Duty" is not subjective, there are EN standards which define the use and durability of each product. 

A suite of European product performance standards (ENs) has been developed for most building components, these include a comprehensive range of product performance standards for architectural hardware.

Products are ‘marked’ with a eleven digit classification coding which shows in detail just what levels of product performance are being claimed for the item. This classification system enables complementary items to also be specified to, for instance, a common level of corrosion resistance, category of use, door mass, etc. as shown below.

EN product classification

The important numbers defining the durability & security of the lock are the First, Second, Sixth and Seventh digits. The fourth digit is also important where the lock case is to be used on an internal fire door. These are as follows:

First Digit - Category of Use (Grades 1 to 3)

Grade 2 - for use by people with some incentive to exercise care but where there is some chance of misuse
Grade 3 - high frequency of use by public or others with little incentive to exercise care and with a high chance of misuse

Second Digit - Durability (Grades A to W)

Grade H - 200,000 cycles; 10N (load on latchbolt)
Grade X - 200,000 cycles; 120N (load on latchbolt)

Third Digit - Door Mass (Grades 1 to 9)

Fourth Digit - Fire Resistance (Grade 0 or 1)

Suitability for use on fire / smoke door assemblies having successfully completed a fire test to EN 1634

Grade 0 = not approved for fire/smoke doors
Grade 1 = suitable for use on fire/smoke doors subject to assessment

Fifth Digit - Safety (Grade 0 or 1)

Sixth Digit - Corrosion Resistance (Grade 0 & A-G)

Level of corrosion resistance to EN 1670 Neutral Salt Spray test and operation of the product at extreme temperatures 

Grade F - high corrosion resistance; -20°C to +80°C
Grade G - very high resistance; -20°C to +80°C

Seventh Digit - Security (Grade 1 to 7)

Grade 2 - Bolt through of 12mm, side load of 3kN 
Grade 3 - Bolt through of 14mm, side load of 5kN 
Grade 4 - Bolt through of 20mm, side load of 7kN
Grade 5 - Bolt through of 20mm, side load of 7kN, drill resistant 
Grade 6 - Bolt through of 20mm, side load of 10kN
Grade 7 - Bolt through of 20mm, side load of 10kN, drill resistant 

Eigth Digit - Field of Door Application (Type A to R)

Ninth Digit - Type of Key Operation
 (Grade 0 & A to H)

Tenth Digit - Type of Spindle Operation 
(Grade 0 to 4)

Eleventh Digit - Key Identification 
(Grade 0 & A to H)

To order to comply with the EN standard each product and/or its packaging are required to be marked with:

CE Marking
To be marked with the European Commission's CE mark, a product will hold all the required certification including classification code of product, type-testing to EN number, manufacturer's mark, year of manufacture, EC certificate of conformity, etc. which will be verified by the notified certification body.

Do you need assistance? Then contact us...
If you have any questions or need help with your purchase, please call us on: 0207 099 2822 or email info@doorstuff.co.uk
Buy from us with confidence, with...
All payments are taken securely with Sage Pay.
We accept:
Trading Standards
Reg. No. 0554
Website by WNW Digital